Ubuntu 7.10 installation

So, I’m posting this minutes after installing ubuntu 7.10, so I don’t have much to say about ubuntu 7.10 yet.

I will say, the much ballyhooed “desktop effects” didn’t work for me (Under the System/Preferenences/Appearances menu, then the “Visual Effects” tab.) I guess it’s my

root@zuul:~# lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [S3 UniChrome] Integrated Video (rev 01)

that it doesn’t like.

Other adventures… halfway through my first attempt at the install, I got an i/o error reading the CD-R. Tried again, and the 2nd time it worked. However, unbeknownst to me, I mistyped the initial username, my own name, and when the install was finished, I couldn’t log in. There’s no default root password, so by default, root can’t login, you’re supposed to use “sudo” instead, after logging in as a regular user. Well, I thought I had mistyped my password once I found myself unable to login. So, I booted again from the CD. Then I found out that I was not root, but user 999, or “ubuntu”. How to become root? “su” didn’t seem to work, wanted a password, which I had no idea. Luckily, the network was working, and there’s a browser in the live-cd environment, so I was able to google around and find the solution. The deal is, by default, in the live-CD environment, there is no root password that allows a login. However, you can do

$ sudo passwd root

And that will let you set a root password from the live-CD environment.

Then, I could become root via “sudo su -“, and mount my real root partition on /tmpmnt, and then chroot into there, and it was then, when I tried to “passwd scameron” to change what I had thought was a botched password, it told me “scameron: no such user.” Then, by “cat /etc/passwd” I found out I had mistyped my own name. “/sbin/init 6”, and login with my misspelled username, and here I am, typing this.

So, the magic words to remember for using a debian based (e.g. ubuntu) live CD as a rescue CD are these:

sudo passwd root

Oh, and this right here, is fucking inexcusable:

root@zuul:~# man 2 write
No manual entry for write in section 2
See 'man 7 undocumented' for help when manual pages are not available.
root@zuul:~# man 3 printf
No manual entry for printf in section 3
See 'man 7 undocumented' for help when manual pages are not available.
root@zuul:~#
root@zuul:~#

What? None of the very most bog standard man pages are here?

Ok… how do I figure what is the name of the package I need to install to get the man pages?

root@zuul:~# apt-get install manpages
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
manpages is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
root@zuul:~# apt-get install manpages-devel
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package manpages-devel
root@zuul:~# apt-get install man-devel
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package man-devel
root@zuul:~# apt-get install devel-man
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package devel-man
root@zuul:~# apt-get install devel-manpages
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package devel-manpages
root@zuul:~#

Argh.

What are the freakin’ normal man pages called? Goddammit, this is linux not windows, and no man pages is fucking unacceptable. Where are my fucking man pages?

I wish the GPL included a clause that required, under threat of revoking redistribution privileges, that all programs, libraries, and kernel APIs to have man pages distributed with them.

~ by scaryreasoner on October 20, 2007.

10 Responses to “Ubuntu 7.10 installation”

  1. apt-cache search manpages

    will find a number of packages including manpages-posix-dev and manpages-dev

  2. Hmm, that didn’t work.

    root@zuul:~# apt-cache search manpages
    vim-common – Vi IMproved – Common files
    manpages – Manual pages about using a GNU/Linux system
    root@zuul:~# apt-get install manpages-dev
    Reading package lists… Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information… Done
    Package manpages-dev is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source
    E: Package manpages-dev has no installation candidate
    root@zuul:~# apt-get install manpages-posix-dev
    Reading package lists… Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information… Done
    E: Couldn’t find package manpages-posix-dev
    root@zuul:~#

  3. Fucking too, I’m having this issue.

  4. New to Ubuntu ! Burnt Ubt 7.10 LiveCD. Worked first time but then when I reboot again, I get “I/O ERROR, ERROR READING BOOT CD”. Same CD works on other PC. confused?

  5. Nimesh, try burning the CD again on the other computer, and pick a low speed. Sometimes CDs burnt on one burner won’t read on other drives.

  6. For me Ubuntu in 8; This worked
    sudo apt-get install manpages-dev
    Try this it should work…..
    Best of luck!!!!

  7. Thanks Hari!! That WORKED! So here goes the solution folks –

    sudo apt-get install manpages-dev

  8. Thanks Hari!! That WORKED! So here goes the solution folks –

    manpages-dev is what you need to install!

  9. Vijayendra, if you look above, in the 2nd comment on this post, I already tried that. Didn’t work.

  10. I know this is an old post, but I just had the same problem with my fedora install. I found the package ‘man-pages’ and that fixed the problem.

Leave a Reply

 
