Vigo the Carpathian, just in time for Halloween

Oct 30, 2007 On Saturday, three days ago,, I was sitting around the house and I suppose I must have been thinking about what sort of decorations for Halloween I might put up, which is odd, me not being the sort of person that’s into carving pumpkins, or putting a bunch of crap in the yard, or the usual sorts of things people do. And so I thought, “maybe I could do a painting of some sort.” Well, the next thing I know, I have the idea to try to duplicate the painting of Vigo the Carpathian from Ghostbusters II. Looking around the net, there are a few — very few — pictures of this painting, and all of them of low qualtiy. But, I didn’t let that stop me.

This is one of thos projects where it seems like a great idea in the beginning, but after you get home with a blank 30×60 inch canvas, you start to wonder, “is this really cool, or is this just weird?” Hmm. Well who knows. Maybe it is just weird. But I’ve seen it through, just the same.

Looking at this creepy thing is like being in an unwinnable staring contest with the evil twin of Hugh Downs.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here’s a closer view of his face:
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here’s a closer look at the skulls and rocks. These were done very quickly and loosely with a half-inch flat brush. They came out pretty well, I think. Some of those block-ish rocks were done with just 2 or 3 brushstrokes, one per visible face, and for once, my attempt at painterly technique actually worked like I wanted it to. The whole painting was done with just 5 tubes of paint: Ivory Black, Titanium White, Cadmium Red Medium, Cadmium Yellow Medium, and a tiny amount of Raw Sienna. The clouds were done with only black, white, and red. I was a bit surprised at how the black and red interacted, they make a kind of purplish tone. I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised, as black and yellow tend to make a greenish tone, so I suppose Ivory Black just acts a bit like blue. It probably doesn’t show up so well in these photos, as they were taken under incandescent lighting, and while I tried to correct the color a bit, I wasn’t able to really get it right in these photos (and who knows what vagaries my monitor intruduces.)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Just to give you an idea of the size of this thing, here’s me hanging out with Vigo where he’ll lie in wait for the trick-or-treaters.
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Thanks for looking.

Edit: Aug 10, 2009: I have since come across a couple of links which might be interesting for the Vigo aficionado: First, I found a rather hi-res jpeg, much better than anything I found when I was making my poor copy… I wish I had this pic then: hi-res vigo pic. I found it here: ghostbusters.wikia.com.

Next, I found the website of one of the original artists of this painting. The original painting was done by David Rymar and Leslee Turnbull. Here is David Rymar’s website.

~ by scaryreasoner on October 31, 2007.

5 Responses to “Vigo the Carpathian, just in time for Halloween”

  1. looks more like christopher walken

  2. Heh, it kind of does look like Christopher Walken. Hadn’t noticed that. Looks like he’s got an uncomfortable piece of metal up his ass, too.

  3. Dear ScaryReasoner,

    I am a member of a New York City rock band, “Law of the Sea” (www.myspace.com/thelawofthesea) and we recently came across your site here. As it turns out, we are potentially interested in using a portion of your Vigo picture as album artwork. (We would of course provide you with due credit on any release that displays a part of your picture.) Please let me know either way, if you have any interest or objection regarding our proposed idea, and we can go from there. Thanks so much, we appreciate it! And great job on the painting – it is very true to the movie.

    Please feel free to email the band: lawoftheseaband@gmail.com

    cheers!

    LAW OF THE SEA

  4. LAW OF THE SEA:

    Though I appreciate the interest, I unfortunately have to say I think that using this artwork for your album is probably not a very good idea. I’ll send you an email with some elaboration on why I think this is the case.

  5. Hey great job on the painting you really captured the essence of Vigo the despised. Your use of texturing really brought out the brutality of this character. Keep up the good work and continue to create.

Leave a Reply

 
