Drawings from the 1980’s

Back when I was in highschool, and college, I used to decorate the inside cover of my spiral bound notebooks with doodles. Some of the better ones I saved. I was cleaning out a room today to make some room for some relatives who are coming in from out of town over the holidays, and a came across these, which I hadn’t seen in quite awhile, though I hadn’t forgotten about them.

This one’s from highschool, probably 1985 or 86:

dragon drawing

They they start getting a bit more surreal, these are probably college, 1987-1989 or so:

surreal notebook doodle

surreal notebook doodle

surreal notebook doodle

surreal notebook doodle

And I once started a painting based on the surfing robot character, probably in 2005 or 2006:

Photobucket

~ by scaryreasoner on December 21, 2007.

9 Responses to “Drawings from the 1980’s”

  1. 🙂

  2. Very nice. Uncanny really! I see a lot of similarity in our style and technique. I’ll have to post some of mine.

  3. Thanks for the comments. I dunno what you’re talkin’ about cuz I think your skills are Great! 🙂 I just joined wordpress a week ago so I don’t have much of my artwork up. The one i did of my son is actually painted in Corel Painter X. (Digital) The only acrylic work I’ve done are on miniatures and urban vinyl toys. haha. I do a lot of pencil sketching and charcoal. As for painting on canvases I just can’t afford all those paints. Even the paints i use on miniatures use to cost me a fortune. hehe. Thanks again for the compliments. I’ll try and post more of my work soon. Keep it up with the art skills. I’m looking forward to seeing your 4 person portrait. hehe.

  4. Ooo, shiny. I used to draw on all my old school diaries and everything too – still got them boxed away – but nowhere near this good. Mostly it was crappy imitation anime-style people, some skinny dragons, and a bunch of abstract patterns.

  5. Ok, this post is getting a ton of hits from somewhere… where are you people coming from?

  6. yeah dragons are so cool ah

  7. “Ok, this post is getting a ton of hits from somewhere… where are you people coming from?”

    It’s the top link in most search engines if you do a search for ‘scaryreasoner’.

    • Nice to know, but I don’t really think too many people are searching for “scaryreasoner”, and, at the time I wrote that comment, there was a relatively huge spike in traffic, all headed towards this page. Never did figure out where it came from.

  8. […] Previously. […]

Leave a Reply

 
