Wine label design time again — Red Zinfandel

I’ve got 6 gallons of a WinExpert Lodi old vine Red Zinfandel kit that’s about ready to bottle, so it’s time to design another wine label. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Once I had the idea for this, I couldn’t resist making it. If you wonder what the hell you’re looking at, then I suppose I have failed.

In case it isn’t obvious, it’s wine pouring into a glass, with the wine splashing up to magically form the image of a person. The person in the wine is of course, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, author of he book “Infidel.” If you haven’t read that book, I highly recommend it. It’s an amazing story, well told.

I printed out four of these on one page, and in that format, it looks rather like an Andy Warhol print. The wordplay probably makes some people groan, but screw ’em, it’s my wine and I’ll label it the way I want.

~ by scaryreasoner on October 1, 2008.

5 Responses to “Wine label design time again — Red Zinfandel”

  1. Like it.
    I have visions of a series of wine labels (Dawkins, Dennett, etc).
    Mind you, they could open you up to a fatwa. (I don’t imagine they would see the irony of a boycott).

  2. Thanks Ken.

    As for a series… along the same lines, if I ever do some Meritage kit with four varietals, I’m already thinking “The Four Horsemen…” I’ve already started on (but may never finish) a painting of the four of them. The likenesses are so far not up to snuff though. Portraiture is *hard*. As John Singer Sargent said, “A portrait is a picture of a person with something wrong with the mouth.” (or something like that.)

    Fatwa? I doubt it. P.Z. Myers desecrated a Koran and (infamously and simultaneously) a “consecrated host” aka “the eucharist” aka “a frackin’ cracker,” and got far more grief from the Catholics than from the Muslims. OTOH, Ayaan Hirsi Ali did get a death threat in the form of a note pinned with a big knife to the corpse of Theo Van Gogh, so… who knows what whackaloons inhabit them thar internets.

  3. Excellent idea, and it works!

  4. Found your blog via the Hirsi tag (she’s one of my heroes.) I would totally buy this wine based on the label alone (which is how I choose my wines anyway which says enough.) Very nice!

  5. Very nice design. As a label printer, we see tons of wine labels pass through our presses and this would certainly catch someone’s attention. Great job!

Leave a Reply

 
