Word War vi T-shirts on cafepress

I got the idea to make some T-shirts and such promoting Word War vi, the little video game I’ve been working on for a bit, and so I’ve been messing around with cafepress lately, something I’ve never done before.

I don’t know if these designs really work all that well conceptually, or more importantly, how they look in real life, once manufactured, but I suppose I may buy at least one T-shirt, and probably a mug myself, just to find out.

Click here to check out the kickin’ Word War vi merchandise.
wwvi_t
There are some confusing things about cafepress, which I’ve yet to really figure out. Had some false starts with some of the images, as different products want different sized images with different DPI’s. For instance the sweatshirt and the mug want 200 dpi minimum, while the T-shirts seem ok with 100 dpi images. But the sizes are different, the mug wants 8.3 by 3 inch images, while the T-shirts and sweatshirts want 10×10 inch images. And then, when you scale your image up, you’ve got to remember to turn anti-aliasing off (did I do that? er, I forget…) And, it’s got to be a .png image with transparent parts where you want the color of the shirt or mug to show through. All that took a few trials and some fiddling around with The Gimp to get right, and I’m still not sure how a shirt would really turn out if (ahem, I mean when) I order one.

One thing I haven’t figured out is how you can have multiple instances of the same “product” (e.g. multiple “Dark T-shirts”) with different images. The interface seems to let you select each “product” just once, and associate one image with one product. So, if say you’re an artist, and you have 20 paintings that you want to put on T-shirts… I don’t see how you can do it with cafepress, unless you open a different store for each shirt, which seems crazy. I’m probably missing something. Or, maybe you have to open one of the “pro” stores to be able to do that? I suspect that is the most likely explanation.

Anyway, it was kind of a fun exercise putting that stuff together, despite the few false starts and weird, non-intuitive interface the cafepress site has.

~ by scaryreasoner on January 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
