Attempting to build a Cyclekart

I’ve decided to attempt to build a cyclekart.

I found out about cyclekarts about a month ago via Make:, specifically, this entry, and haven’t been able to stop thinking about them since.

What’s a cyclekart?

Cyclekart= A one-seat car using Honda 17″x 1 3/4″ or 2″ rims, 2.50 x 17″ tires (2.75’s have been used on the Alfa), a 38″ track, wheelbase as close to 66″ as the aesthetics of the car will allow (err on the shorter side for more abstract cuteness and general attractiveness), weight no more than 250lbs , and powered by a 200cc, single cylinder, 6.5 hp Honda OHV engine (the GX200). A Cyclekart should not cost more than $1750 to build in 2001 dollars (this is to avoid spending races where people start hiring out parts and making things too nice; we’re not making show cars, and an element of scrounging adds to the fun).

You should read An Introduction to Cyclekarting.

The above definition comes from the Cyclekart Specifications page.

And definitely check out the Cyclekart photo gallery. (Each one of the photos on that page leads to a page with more photos, and those pages often have little movies of the karts in action.)

I say I have decided to attempt to build one rather than to build one because I’m not all that confident in my ability to complete such a project successfully.

I have, however, begun to collect the hardest pieces of the puzzle to find, which is to say the wheels. And I’ve already made some errors.

Tentatively, I’ve decided to model my kart after a machine called the Delage Bequet. But I’m not really to the point that this decision is having any impact on what I’m doing yet, which so far amounts to searching around for Honda wheels.

Here are the wheels I have so far.

Above: outside view of what I think to be an instance of the correct Honda wheel. Note the large size of the wheel hub. The tire seems to hold air.

Above: inside view of what I think to be an instance of the correct Honda wheel.

Above: Outside view of a non-Honda wheel. Notice the small size of the hub. However, I think this may work as a front wheel of a cyclekart anyhow. I think it can’t be used as a rear wheel because of the way the rear wheels are attached. The tire seems to hold air.

Above: Inside view of a non-Honda wheel.

Outside view of another non-Honda wheel without a tire. This one seems to be the same kind as the one above, and perhaps suitable for the front wheel of a cyclekart.

Inside view of a non-Honda wheel without tire.

Outside view of a possibly-Honda rear wheel. The diameter of the hub is large enough that this could be used as the rear wheel of a cycle kart, but it is very ugly as it doesn’t have the “hub capped” look of the front wheels. The tire doesn’t hold air. I probably won’t use this wheel, if I can find a better one.

Inside view of a possibly-Honda rear wheel.

So far, I’ve spent about $100 on this. I’m sure it will be interesting.

~ by scaryreasoner on March 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Attempting to build a Cyclekart”

  1. […] on the silly thing. It’s been more then two years since I started this project, back on March 24, 2009. I’ve certainly learned a lot in that time, and I can do some things I wasn’t able to […]

  2. Update, May 2012: Just thought I should leave a comment here, as this is the first post I made in my cyclekart building saga. If you want to see the rest of the posts on this multi-year journey, heres the link you want: https://scaryreasoner.wordpress.com/tag/cyclekart/

Leave a Reply

 
