Cyclekart progress, May 18, 2009

The Dayton 6904zz bearings that I’m planning to use for the front wheels came in the mail today. They’re 37mm outer diameter, 20mm inner diameter, and 9mm wide. I got them at vxb.com.
dayton_6904zz_bearings

20mm is almost 1mm bigger than 0.75 inches, the latter being the diameter of the wheel spindles I’m planning to use. So, I need to make a bearing shim… somehow. Or else fabricate custom spindles with my 20mm axle diameter to begin with. So, as a trial, I cut some aluminum flashing material and curled it into a cylinder and put it on the axle and then put the bearing over that.

cyclekart_front_bearing_shim_1

cyclekart_front_bearing_shim_2

Not sure how well it will really work out, but it seems like there is a chance it could work.

Edit: May 24, 2009: I’ve looked into things a bit more, and my plan now is to use stainless steel shim stock to try to construct the bearing shims. I don’t think the aluminum flashing material is sufficiently durable.

~ by scaryreasoner on May 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
