Don’t Sleep, There Are Snakes

Last week, I took a trip down to Florida to see a lot of my relatives. One of my cousins mentioned to me the book, Don’t sleep, there are snakes, by Dan Everitt. I haven’t read this book, but when my cousin described it to me, I recognized having seen a youtube video about it. It’s an autobiographical story about a Christian missionary (Dan Everitt) who travels to the remote Amazon to evangelize to an indigenous tribe. The language they speak is so unusual that nobody had previously been able to communicate with the tribe, but Dan eventually figures it out. In the process, instead of converting them, he loses his religion. Tonight, I’m perusing metafilter, and what do I see but a post about Don’t Sleep, There are Snakes.

There’s a 90 minute interview by NPR in 2006. It was these videos that I recalled and recognized when my cousin told me about “Don’t Sleep, There are Snakes.

part 1
part 2
part 3
part 4

More from The New Yorker and TIME

~ by scaryreasoner on March 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
