Cyclekart progress, April 11, 2010

This weekend I built a faux radiator for my cyclekart. When I began this project, more than a year ago, the first thing I did was construct a faux radiator. It was something I could sink my teeth into, something I could begin working on right away. However, it was also something which I could get completely wrong in terms of dimensions and scale. When you build one of these things, you don’t want your design to be dictated by the arbitrarily chosen dimensions of a faux radiator built in a fit of misguided enthusiasm over a weekend. I sort of knew this all along, and had always viewed that first faux radiator as an experiment, and though I refer to it in the video below as a “failed” experiment, in reality, it was rather successful at proving that aluminum flashing material could be used to make a tolerably convincing metallic finish for the “radiator.”

In the course of working on this thing this weekend, I also began sweeping out a portion of the garage. This mere sweeping activity escalated into a full-on assault and overdue reorganization of my garage. When I first moved into this house, there was a bunch of crap left in the garage by the previous owners, including the headboard of a bed, a miniature air-hockey table (2 feet by 3 feet or so… an air hockey table for munchkins apparently,) and a bunch of assorted crap. I just kind of ignored most of it and moved my garage-able stuff in around it. This is the first I’ve really started digging into it and trying to toss what I can figure out how to toss.

I also put in a set of florescent lights up in the garage. Surprisingly cheap. The fixtures were about $10 each (4x), and the pair of florescent tubes for each was about $7. Adding in a couple of power strips, and an adapter to turn a light bulb socket into an electrical outlet plus a light bulb socket into which the power strips could be plugged into, into which the lights could be plugged into, and the total is about $80. Not too bad.

So… anyway, made a little video. Probably not too interesting unless you’re into devouring every morsel of cyclekart activity on the internet.

Edit: if no video shows up, try this link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvDGoDsGGXE

~ by scaryreasoner on April 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Cyclekart progress, April 11, 2010”

  1. Hey looking good. I too am looking to build one of these, but started off on a pedal version for my kids first. I picked up the plans (which I’ve deviated a bit from) from the same guy that started the CycleKarts following. Looking forward to see your next steps. You can compare notes on a pedal version @ http://thegokart.wordpress.com

  2. Thanks. BTW, there’s a yahoo cyclekart group, and if you’re really going to build one, you should probably join, as there are quite a few builders on there, and lots of good information and experience to draw upon, and to cheer you on, help celebrate our small victories over metal, wood, and plastic, and whatever other materials seem appropriate.

    I’ll be sure to check out your pedal kart build.

Leave a Reply

 
