Castle Goofenstein

2010-07-25: It’s been awhile since I’ve had the itch to program some kind of video games, but it seems to have come back. For the last week or so, I’ve had the idea to make some kind of clone or variant of the old Apple ][ game, “Castle Wolfenstein”. This is the game that was the inspiration for Id’s first first-person shooter, which iirc, was called “castle wolfenstein 3d” (too lazy to google it up.) Anyway, I’m going throwback to 2d land, because I’m in it for the programming fun, and 3d is hard work.

I started programming yesterday, and things progressed pretty quickly, thanks to stealing loads of code from Word War vi. It’s still a long way from being a playable game, but here’s what I’ve got so far:

I’ll probably be putting the code up on github or sourceforge in a day or two, once I get something that resembles a playable game going.

Oh, for the curious, it’s written in beautiful C (not ugly C++) for gtk, runs on linux. Just like Word War vi in those respects.

~ by scaryreasoner on July 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
