Revisiting my alma mater

Today I took a trip with an old friend back to my alma mater, Texas A&M University. I hadn’t been back there since probably 1994 or so.

Welcome to Aggieland.

We roamed around the campus, revisiting our old haunts. Here I am, at “J ramp” of Walton Hall, where I spent two years in J11, 1986-1988:

Here is the exterior of the Academic Building:

And here is a vertical panorama of the interior of the Academic building. (During the taking of this photo, my friend’s leg unfortunately fell off.)

Here are some trees outside Evans Library:

And here’s a little video of some of the stuff we saw. The first part is of the “O and M” building, or the “Oceanographic and Meteorological” building, which is a 10 story building with a Doppler radar on top of it. Most interesting though, are the narrow channels which run up the side of the building, and which produce a most interesting acoustic effect, which I discovered on my own in 1986-88 or so — though I think it is widely known. There was a sign in the alcove or channel that said “Clue #3”, which was interesting, but I’m betting it had something to do with the weird sound you can get while standing in there. The 2nd part of the video is of a new (new to me anyway) building, a physics and astronomy building which contains a Focault pendulum, and a floor which is tiled by Penrose tiles. So, pretty neat building.

~ by scaryreasoner on October 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
