Back from the Ozarks, Nov 2010

Nov 28, 2010

Back from the Ozarks. Went back to our log cabin in the Ozarks for Thanksgiving.

My brother and I both found arrowheads near the base of some nearby bluffs. It was after a hard rain, and we found them both within a foot of each other atop what we later realized had to be a pile of the tailings from some previous people’s efforts to dig for arrowheads. The two we found were apparently small enough to fit through the spaces in whatever they were using to sift through the dirt.


Both sides of the arrowhead I found are pictured above. I don’t have any pictures of the one my brother found.

We also came across a fossil at the base of the bluffs. It’s about 5 feet long.

I’m guessing this is a Lepidodendron. Thirty years ago, we’d found another of these fossils about a half mile from this one.

~ by scaryreasoner on November 29, 2010.

One Response to “Back from the Ozarks, Nov 2010”

  1. Nice job o the pics, and a beautiful point, I talked to M & B a little while ago. Sounds like the turkey as good. Wish I coulda been there.

Leave a Reply

 
