Pork South Texas Ribeye

Dec 4, 2011. HEB, a grocery store chain that’s around where I live, is selling what they are calling “Pork South Texas Ribeyes” for US $1.94 / lb., which is pretty cheap. I’ve grilled pork chops before, and they’re alright, but they seem to very often come out a little dry and bland. This so-called “South Texas Ribeye” was a very pleasant surprise. I bought a pack of six of these things not really knowing what I was getting into.

I smeared it in olive oil and a little salt, and then grilled it 6 minutes on each side, then put it onto a piece of aluminum foil on the grill to keep it from charring too much and put a little bit of K.C. Masterpiece barbecue sauce on it, and let it go for another 4 or 5 minutes. I thought about adding a touch of sriracha as well, but decided against it for now. Maybe next time.

I also cooked a combo of sliced onions, squash and potatoes in a foil packet on the grill (total about 40 mins, flipping every once in awhile) and warmed up some Bush’s “grillin’ beans”.

This “south texas ribeye” turned out way better than I expected it to. Imagine the best pork chop of your life, and that’s pretty much how this turned out for me.

Awesome meal. There will definitely be more South Texas Ribeyes in my future.

~ by scaryreasoner on December 5, 2011.

22 Responses to “Pork South Texas Ribeye”

  1. Unbelievable! Bought a package on Sunday for $4.05 an pan fried them with mesquite seasoning and a little salt and pepper. So tender and juicy that my wife actually thought they were rib eye steaks. Even my son who is the pickiest eater in the world went back for seconds. Fed the whole family for less than $10.00! Best thing HEB has had in a while.

  2. Hey me too!
    I found this blog when I Googled “pork rib eye” trying to find out what it was so I could buy a bunch more. I hope HEB has this all the time. The price will probably jump the more people try it. At about $1.25 per steak it’s cheap, but tastes like an expensive cut.

  3. I too recently found the ‘South Texas Ribeye’ at my local grocery store. I’ve lived in Texas all my life (save those 6 hazy years in San Diego) and I’ve never heard of this cut of pork. It looked good, thick and nicely marbled and at a cost of 7 dollars and change for 4 of them I had to try it.
    Being a Texan, my first instinct was of course to grill them. Unfortunately the weather was not going to cooperate so I seared them in a pan, put a simple rub of chili powder, salt, pepper, garlic powder and a couple other spices and baked them.
    Needless to say, or maybe it is needed, I don’t know. What I do know is that not counting a bacon and sage wrapped pork loin I once grilled over mesquite, this was the best piece of pork I have ever had .

  4. I do mine in a hot cast iron skillet. Just salt and pepper and three minutes on each side. To die for. And probably will. Would like to know the calorie and fat count. I steam the veggies, so I won’t feel quite so guilty.

  5. I bought a 4 pack for $4.72 at H.E.B.’s less expensive Joe V’s Smart Shop brand yesterday to use in banh mi sandwiches. I marinated for 30 minutes in fish sauce, soy sauce, rice vinegar, minced garlic, black pepper, maple syrup, then pan fried. They turned out to be amazing. I let them rest for a few minutes and sliced across the grain for my sandwiches. These look and taste like steaks. My new favorite.

  6. Cooked them tonight, with Emeril’s recipe for smothered pork chops. Melted in my mouth. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/smothered-pork-chops-recipe/index.html

  7. Bought 2 packs of 4 this weekend for under $4 and grilled them 6 minutes on each side. Very, very, good. Will definitely be buying more.

  8. Wow! They’re great. Thanks for sharing your tips. I too bought these gems not knowing the best way to cook them. I found your comments via web search and basically followed your lead. Now I need to try some other cooking method using these Pork So. TX Rib Eyes. I hope they don’t get so popular that the price rises like skirt steak did! They were $2.47…still a bargain.

  9. These sound great. But I don’t think the tips are shared by real people, as on every other website I’ve read the majority of people misspell a number of words. These are groomed. Looking forward to trying the Pork South Texas Ribeyes, though.

    • LOL. What can I say. My blog here is primarily known as being an atheist blog. We atheists tend to be an over-edjumacated erudite literary bunch. That being said, most of the commenters on this particular post probably got here by way of googling “pork south Texas ribeye” in an attempt to find out what it was they just bought. I’m guessing the ones who stuck around long enough to comment upon seeing that this is one of them thar godless heathen baby-eating atheist blogs tend to be among the over-edjumacated erudite literary bunch who aren’t easily frightened.

      (Heavily edited for embarassing spelling and grammar mistakes).

  10. Does anybody know the nutritional details?

    • Just looking at it… it’s full of fat. Don’t know the details, but I suspect if you care about the details then the details will not be to your liking.

  11. Looks very nice and make me hungry;-)

  12. i cook pork ribeye often. Again, it is very inexpensive and tastes wonderful. I have seared them and added bell peppers and onion (just like beef ribeye) and baked potatoe on the side, on the grill is heavenly, you can also add homemade sauce. I used a cook book for Merlot sauce and the family loved the combination.
    HAPPY EATING!

  13. I thought the meat was pretty good for pork. I was wondering if the South Texas pork was actually utilization of the wild out of control hog population tearing up the place down here?. I would like to think it was. The taste is that satisfying, as is the price, tenderness and leanness.

  14. This may be way late to the party but the big HEB packs of these things also work very well for carnitas – I use the Rick Bayless packet of seasoning which is cheating but if you flash fry them then crockpot em while at work, you come home to heavenly pork goodness. Also fabulous with just Penzey’s chop seasoning on them. What can’t you do to those things?!

  15. My manfriend smoked these with some ribs one day. I was reluctant to try what I thought was a boneless pork chop which had been over coals for a couple hours, so I tried a small piece. I expected dry and tasteless. What I got was tasty and juicy with a wonderful smoky flavor. I ate an entire “steak” and went looking for more. Today, however, he is in bed sick and has defrosted a pack of four. There will be no grilling today, so I’ve gone online looking for kitchen recipes. From what I’ve read here, I can do almost anything to ’em and get great results.

  16. Ok, y’all. These are AMAZING. I’ve never been a fan of pork chops but was craving pork so I got these at HEB for cheap. I spent $5.00 for 4 massive “steaks,” and boy, was it worth it! I marinated them in Stubb’s Mopin Sauce for about 20 minutes then threw them on the George Foreman for about 10 and the result was unbelievable. They cut like butter and taste better than some Beef Steaks I have had. Too bad the prices have gone up a bit. I’m going to stock up and freeze a few packs.

  17. This will be the first time trying these rib eyes. I want to bake them. How long do I bake them?

Leave a Reply

 
