Cyclekart Progress — more fiberglassing

May 2, 2012 — More fiberglassing on the cyclekart.

I wasn’t super happy with how the fiberglassing turned out last weekend. Today I got up early, donned coveralls, dust mask, and goggles and hit the thing with an orbital sander and a 60 grit sanding disc and sanded down the worst of the protrusions. (Did I mention it’s hot outside? Because it’s really really hot. And humid, holy shit is it humid in Houston. My breath is redirected by the dust mask to my glasses ang goggles which of course fog up and I can’t see shit. I should have done this job earlier in the year. Oh well.) Then, taking advantage of my previous experience, I fit a single sheet of glass cloth to the cowl, and another single sheet of glass cloth to the boat tail. If you work with it and play with it for a bit, you can get the glass cloth to conform to some shapes you might initially think it will not conform to.

Last weekend, for example, I had used two pieces for each layer on the cowl, and 4 pieces for each layer on the boat tail, and this was the cause of a lot of the bumps and irregularities that I had to sand down. If I had known then what I know now, I would have used one piece on the cowl for each layer, and one main piece for the boat tail, and a 2nd piece for the vertical section on the boat tail. In any case, no harm done.

Here’s the cowl wet out.

And the boat tail wet out.

I let the the resin set up for about an hour and a half, and then added another layer of resin to fill in the weave, and will likely add a third layer of resin to try to get the thing smoothed out enough to be sanded for painting.

This coming week, in the evenings, or perhaps next weekend, I will cut out openings in the front and rear for access to the innards of the kart, and fashion some sort of system for the pieces to connect and latch to the kart, the details of which I haven’t quite worked out yet.

Here’s a little video.

~ by scaryreasoner on June 2, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
