Took my cyclekart to Houston Coffee and Cars today (2012-08-04)

August 4, 2012

Took my cyclekart to Houston Coffee And Cars this morning. Got there late, so ended up with a bad parking place way out back, but still had plenty of interested people stop by to look and talk about it. Not sure I managed to convince anyone to build one though. Was too busy to take very many pictures, this one is about all I got.

Took some (minor, easily fixable) damage to the front while loading the thing into the truck. Totally my fault, I forgot to warn the guy helping me that the piece on the front was cosmetic, not structural, so it’s missing in the photo above.

Also discovered another, and probably the most convincing reason not to make your kart too long. You want it to actually fit into the back of a pickup truck. Mine kind of doesn’t. The front wheels hang off the tailgate with the kart resting on the body. Had to load it in backwards because attempting it frontwards, the rear end of the kart bottomed out going up the steep ramps that we had.

~ by scaryreasoner on August 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “Took my cyclekart to Houston Coffee and Cars today (2012-08-04)”

  1. How have i never heard of this “coffee and cars” I live literally around the corner of vintage park!!! there site is down, is it always at VP or does it move around? I have been dreaming of building a cycle kart for a long time, just don’t know where to start.

    • DUDE! *I* live around the corner from Vintage Park. You want to build a cyclekart? I can help you with this. For the last year or so coffee and cars has been at vintage park. Prior to that it was near the Edwards movie theater on I-10, and prior to that, at a shopping center near the galleria.

      As for where to start, start by collecting four Honda CT-90 wheels.

      • From what i have read that’s the hardest parts to find. 😦

        I started going back through your blog to see your build from the beginning, looks amazing. I’ll be on the look out for you next month in VP. or shoot me a email if you would like to meet before then.

        P.S. between your Lotus and cyclekart, my mind=BLOWN! LOL

Leave a Reply

 
