Building a wooden prop sword

March 20, 2016 — Awhile ago, I watched a video of Adam Savage building a prop Hellboy sword. He built it out of plywood, bondo, aluminum tape, and spray paint. It came out looking better than it had any right to. Here is that video:

So, being stuck at home for a couple days, I thought I’d try something similar.

First, I had to shape a (nominally) 1×2 inch board into something vaguely sword shaped. For this I used a coping saw, a pocket knife, and a rasp, and sandpaper. A table saw, jigsaw, belt sander, and various other power tools would have made the job go a lot easier and quicker, but I don’t have those, so I had to do it by hand. Using the rasp to shape the blade by hand was tiring, to say the least.

wooden-sword-1

wooden-sword-2

wooden-sword-3

Then I glued on some bits of wood I had sawed out with the coping saw to form a cross guard.

wooden-sword-4

Then on with the aluminum tape, spray paint and steel wool.

wooden-sword-5

wooden-sword-6

I used a ball-point pen to do some “elvish” “engraving”.

sword-engraving

Came out pretty cool.

~ by scaryreasoner on March 20, 2016.

One Response to “Building a wooden prop sword”

  1. Awsome!

Leave a comment